Art History (Honors)

1 Unit
Fine Arts
Grades: 9, 10, 11, 12

In this course students will understand the political, cultural, and religious changes throughout history that are depicted within art. This course is an opportunity for students to reflect on how art was and is used as a vehicle to communicate, depict political and religious propaganda, and serve as evidence of cultural shifts and changes. Students will be challenged to contemplate the connection between art and context through reflective writing assessments and Discussion-Based Assessments. Students will build upon knowledge throughout the course and understand how art reflects and communicated cultural change and evolution. Students will develop critical skills of analysis, synthesis, and evaluation in this course by analyzing historical documents, working in a thematic context, developing proficiency in note-taking, free-response writing, and solving problems. Students will demonstrate their skills through participation in extended collaborative projects. Art History & Criticism 1 Honors is an honors-only course. All assessments in this course are honors level and students will earn honors credit only.


  • State Certified


Instructor Embedded Cost: $400

Content Only Cost: $48

The following information applies only to instructor embedded courses.

Prerequisites: None

Oklahoma Subject Code: 2818

Course Provider Contact: Glenda Ellero | | 407-504-1476

How To Purchase This Course

Districts wishing to purchase this course should contact the course provider directly (see contact information above) and reference the contract in the "attachments" portion of the page linked here. If you are purchasing an Instructor Embedded course, please note that online instructors need not be certified in the state of Oklahoma. They must be certified to teach the content in at least one state or teach the subject at a college or university. To enroll a student in the course, you will need to obtain from the course provider (a) the instructor’s name; (b) the state through which the instructor is certified, and (c) the instructor’s certification number. If the instructor is employed to teach the subject at a college or university, you will need to obtain that institution’s iPEDS number. This information will be recorded in the SIS when you enroll a student in the course. When enrolling a student in a Content Only course, you must indicate in the SIS the name of the person monitoring the course.